So why this blog?

If you’re a regular reader of my ‘main’ blog, you might be asking yourself why I’m making another. Or if you’ve just stumbled by, you might be wondering what this blog is all about.

At some point during 2013, I really started to enjoy sewing clothes for my son. I enjoyed making those clothes look good, enjoyed learning new techniques which helped me. Then around the end of 2013, when everyone is looking backwards and forwards at the same time, I decided to take the plunge and start making clothes for myself.

This was a huge thing! Outside of costumes, I hadn’t made myself clothes since Grade 8 home economics (home of the lopsided skirt). I have a tendency to rush things – a tendency which doesn’t work well with making good quality clothing. But I’m tired of buying things which don’t really fit and I’m tired of treating clothing like momentary things – I want to feel happy and comfortable in my clothes . . . and proud of them.

I’ve moved a lot of my previous sewing and crochet posts here, as I thought people might enjoy them. But for the near future, my focus will be on sewing clothes for me and my son, Squirm (and possibly my husband!)

I hereby declare 2014 the Year of Sewing! Hope you enjoy the ride!

sewing

 

Leave a Reply

