KCW: Summer (Winter) 2013: The Plan


Kids Clothes Week begins in one week and one day, and this will be my first attempt at it. The challenge is pretty easy – spend at least an hour a day sewing kids clothing for a whole week. From what I can tell, a real community feel emerges from this week, with everyone sharing photos of their achievements and sewing along together.

Because it’s my first attempt and because I’m feeling a little ambitious, I’ve set myself a few additional goals. I want to:

  • Pay extra attention to my finishing, linings and seams. I’ve been watching (devouring) the Great British Sewing Bee on You Tube and I’m definitely struck by how much better things look when they’re finished properly
  • Make full outfits which are inspired by books/movies
  • At the same time, make pieces which can be worn in different combinations and with different clothes (so not too costume-ish)
  • Use thrifted adults clothes as much as possible. There’s a couple of exceptions to this, but I’ve just found a couple of great op shops near me with really affordable good quality stuff

This is pretty ambitious, especially since I will need to do some fabric painting as part of the preparation, but I’m really looking forward to the challenge. This next week will be spent selecting and practicing patterns, cutting out material and painting it, making sure I have all the notions and ‘stuff’ I need and reading up on all the necessary techniques.

A pile of old clothes ready to be turned into new clothes!

A pile of old clothes ready to be turned into new clothes!

Squirm checks out his latest pair of shorts

Squirm checks out his latest pair of shorts

Have you ever taken part in a week long challenge?

2 thoughts on “KCW: Summer (Winter) 2013: The Plan

  1. this looks awesome! i can’t wait to see what you make this week. and, i LOVE the great british sewing bee. i cried at the end. i didn’t, mind you, cry at my wedding. but gbsb really got me.

    • I cried when their family members turned up as models and then I cried again at the end. It was a gorgeous show – I only wish it went longer 🙂 I’m really looking forward to following your adventures this coming week too!

Leave a Reply

