WIAUT Wednesday: April 24, 2013

What I Am Up To Wednesday

It’s been a quiet week over here, crochet wise. Most of my crocheting time has been spent working on this:

Austin Sweater2

It’s a sweater for my husband and it’s a big project. I’m really enjoying working on it, though. And I especially like working with the Bendigo Woollen Mills wool – it’s going to be lovely to wear (note to self: do not deliberately make it too small, so you can wear it . . .)

I’ve got my first baby/toddler hat out for testing at the moment. One thing I’ve got to remember in my pattern writing is using ’rounds’ instead of ‘row’ when I’m working in the round! A good thing to remember.

Meanwhile, I’ve been working on my next hat, but I’m not particularly happy with it. So I’ve put it aside for a while and I’ve been working with pencil and papar on drawing up some new designs. I’ve also been working on learning some new tools and techniques, which I hope to share with you soon.

I finally posted the free Lady Mary Coaster pattern here during the last week, as well as some free projects made from nothing more than chains and slip stitches. When I talk to people about crochet, a lot of the time people tell me that they can chain, but don’t know where to go from there. Well, while you’re learning the next steps, here’s some jewelry and accessories to keep you busy!

Three Chain Necklace: Crochet of a Subversive Reader

I keep seeing people who are learning to crochet at the moment, which is immensely exciting. I worked with a teacher librarian at my old school to teach crochet to a group of 10-12 year olds and it was very satisfying watching them take basic stitches and make their own creations.

The other exciting thing, this week, was managing to find the Vogue Knitting Crochet Edition for my ipad. I’ll review it in more detail later in the week, but it’s a beautiful publication and the patterns are so pretty!

What have you been up to in crochet this week?

Leave a comment