Beginners Series Number 2: Holding the Yarn and Hook

Number 1: What You Need

So, you’ve got your yarn and you’ve got your hook – now what are you supposed to do with them? Well, before you can begin putting together your amazing creations, you need to know how to hold your yarn and hook.

Since crochet has evolved differently as a craft, around different parts of the world, there is no ‘one correct way’ to hold your yarn and hook. However, you do need to be able to hold your hook so that you can move it freely and you need to hold your yarn to get good tension. I’m going to show you how I do it, and link you to some other ways to hold your yarn and hook.

The Yarn

I crochet with the hook in my right hand (even though I am left handed). So, I need to organise the yarn in my left hand. To do this, I weave the yarn over my ring finger, under my middle finger and over my pointer finger.

Over the ring finger

Over the ring finger

Under the middle and over the pointer

Under the middle and over the pointer

I then turn my wrist, so my thumb is towards the ceiling, and use my thumb and middle finger to hold the yarn. I raise my pointer finger to maintain tension, and this gives me the yarn I need to ‘yarn over’ when I’m crocheting.

Holding the yarn with my middle finger and thumb

Holding the yarn with my middle finger and thumb

 

The Hook

Apparently there are two main ways to hold your crochet hook – like a pencil or like a knife. I hold mine in the ‘knife grip’ – probably because as a lefty I have eaten with a knife in my right hand, but I don’t write with my right hand! The important thing about holding your hook is to make sure you have movement – up and down, around in circles and back and forward. I found that I discovered the most comfortable position for me over time – watching students, I found that they did the same thing.

Crochet of a Subversive Reader:Holding Hook and Yarn

 

Here’s some other ways to hold your hook – showing left handers too!

So, now you have what you need to crochet, and you know how to hold them – next week we’ll learn about chains, and you’ll get to make things!

One thought on “Beginners Series Number 2: Holding the Yarn and Hook

Leave a Reply

