Quick Crochet Recipe: Granny Square Baby Hat

A crochet recipe isn’t a full pattern. Instead I tell you how I did something, without giving you all the stitches, and let you follow the ‘recipe’ to create your own!

The other night I had a thought. Could I use big granny squares to make a baby hat?

Turns out I totally can . . . (even if my model isn’t that willing)

Crochet of a Subversive REader: Granny Square Hat Crochet Recipe

Here’s how I did it

Granny Square Baby Hat

You will need:

  • Yarn – I used 4 different colours of Carnival Soft 8 Ply. Any plain yarn will work well, but softer is better for babies
  • A hook – I used a 3mm. A bigger hook will be quicker, but will also give you bigger holes in the work. A smaller hook will take longer
  • Scissors and yarn needle

Procedure:

  1. Make 2 large granny squares
    -If you don’t know how to make granny squares, check out this post here at Meet Me At Mikes
    -My granny square (for my large headed 8 month old) was 9 rounds big. I started with a colour then a neutral, then colour, then neutral for the whole square.
    -One or two rounds more would probably make a hat big enough for a toddler, one or two less for a newborn/small baby. One side should be long enough to go from forehead to crown, another side from crown to neck.
    Crochet of a Subversive REader: Granny Square Hat Crochet Recipe
  2. Join the two granny squares together on two sides
    -I made another row of ‘granny stitches’ and crocheted the two adjoining sides together, but you could just sew them
    Crochet of a Subversive REader: Granny Square Hat Crochet Recipe
  3. Make ‘flaps’ for the hat
    -This is where mine hasn’t worked so well. I made granny triangles which were too wide for Squirm. Next time, I’d either make a small square (2/3 rounds) or a rectangle
    -Sew the ‘flaps’ on near the front of the hat
    Crochet of a Subversive REader: Granny Square Hat Crochet Recipe
  4. Make two strings to tie the hat on
    I took three pieces of each colour and plaited them to make the strings. Make sure to leave extra yarn at the bottom for a tassel.
    -Sew the two strings to the bottom of the flaps. If you decide not to make flaps, sew them to the front of the hat
    -You could crochet a string, or if you could even use elastic instead

    Crochet of a Subversive REader: Granny Square Hat Crochet Recipe

  5. Weave in the ends, wrangle a baby into position and try the hat on!
    Crochet of a Subversive REader: Granny Square Hat Crochet Recipe

I think this would be a very adaptable hat. Done in fine pastels, it would be a lovely little bonnet for a new born. In all white it would be perfect for a Christening (as long as it’s not in summer, like Squirm’s was!). You could definitely adapt it bigger for bigger kids and even adults!

Have fun with this one, and don’t forget to let me know if you make it!

Leave a Reply

