Why Crochet?

I have a confession to make. I did not start as a crocheter. Although my mother and grandmother both crochet, it was knitting that I learned first, with the help of my Nana. Years later, when I wanted something ‘crafty’ to do, I turned back to the knitting needles, making extraordinarily simple scarves on increasingly large needles.

Some of my knitted work . . .

Some of my knitted work . . .

So how did I turn to crochet? And why is it now my preferred craft?

About four years ago I decided to do something with my stagnant yarn collection. Somehow, I ended up picking up a crochet hook from the local shops and taught myself how to crochet using a mixture of a crochet magazine and You Tube videos (which is why I use US terminology – I picked that up from the videos). Since then, I’ve used books, magazines and websites, as well as lots of practice to design and crochet what I design and crochet now. And thanks to sites like Ravlelry and Pinterest, I’m still learning!

But why crochet? Why not stick with knitting?

  • For me, knitting is excruciatingly slow. I just don’t have the patience to keep going
  • Because it’s so slow, I struggle to learn new skills
  • I kept dropping stitches and making odd looking things

But (for me) crochet is:

  • Much faster
  • More inventive – I love how easy it is to move between 2D and 3D structures. And I can go in any direction
  • Fun to experiment with – I love playing with texture and shape
  • Full of passionate people. Because knitting gets more press than crochet, crocheters seem to be very passionate about sharing what they do
  • Fun to share – a couple of years ago, lots of my students learned to crochet. Watching how inventive they were was a buzz
  • Easy to carry around – a hook and yarn is definitely smaller than big needles!

Crochet of a Subversive Reader

Knitting is wonderful, and I’m full of admiration for those who can do it well. But, I’ll stick with crochet where I do my best work!

What’s your favourite crafty thing? Why is it your favourite? And have you got any crafts that you’re pretty average at?

6 thoughts on “Why Crochet?

      • My next project after this one is a US pattern. I almost got the wool for it yesterday but didn’t quite have time before Lincraft closed. Last night I put the pattern into Word and did a find/replace to translate, just to be sure. πŸ™‚

  1. I learnt to knit first too, I taught myself both, and for some reason I found it really difficult at first to get the hang of crochet. At the moment I seem to do lots more crochet than knitting, probably because it is faster! (unless you make a doily) On the whole though I don’t think I prefer one or the other, I choose one to suit my mood, but most of all I love being able to just choose a pattern to make because I like it and not worry whether it’s knitting or crochet. Best of both worlds πŸ™‚

  2. Having never attempted knitting, I am definitely glad I decided to crochet instead. I have heard that knitting is quite slow so I agree that crochet is much better for one who is impatient (like myself) πŸ™‚ It’s so much fun! My favorite projects are hats and finger less gloves. They’re fast, fun and they make great gifts!

Leave a Reply

